IAEA Censures Irans Nuclear Program: White House Cheerleads

Twenty-five countries out of 34 on the board of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) voted to censure Iran’s secret nuclear program. White House press secretary, Robert Gibbs, said the vote was “overwhelming.” What he did not say is what the heck the censure means. That’s because it likely means nothing.

IAEA – Vienna

For the first time Russia and China voted for the censure, along with
the U.S., France, Germany and Britain. Three nations voted against the
censure: Malaysia, Venezuela and Cuba. Six nations abstained and one
member was absent. Among the six abstentions were the Muslim nations of Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Egypt, along with South Africa and Brazil. Brazil and Iran are in their own cozy little huddle with “eight cooperation deals” just signed:

The new deals will pave the way for Iran
and Brazil to enhance their cooperation in the areas of commerce,
energy, and agricultural research and to lift the visa regime between
the two countries.

The thirty-five-member IAEA Board of Governors consists of Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Brazil, Burkina Faso,
Cameroon, Canada, China, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, India,
Japan, Kenya, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, the
Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Peru, Romania, Russian Federation,
South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, the UK, and the USA,
Uruguay, and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.